A BLBG Workout

I’ll admit it: I pay money to exercise.

Not all of my exercise requires money. I don’t own a car so I walk and bike everywhere, saving so much money in the meantime. If it is less than a mile (12 standard city blocks is pretty close to a mile), why drive? I make it a point to pick up a manageable amount of groceries once a week – saving more money by planning ahead – and walk there and back. If you hate carrying heavy stuff in those reusable canvas bags I’m sure you are using, try bringing a backpack along.

Since I’m obviously so fit from all my walking and biking and eating well, why would I pay to workout? Motivation helps me establish a routine.

It’s one thing to be active, it’s another thing to work out. I am active, but for the longest time I hated working out. Paying for miserable, smelly gyms that I ended up ignoring was never an option. I don’t throw money away. And I was lazy and never got that far anyway.

Then, a friend introduced me to her new workout routine, boot camp. It was relatively cheap, outdoors, involved almost no equipment, and actually gave my friend results she was proud of. She never worked out before. Now? I’m trying to keep up with her.

While it may not be for everyone, I think more people ought to give high intensity interval training (HIIT) a try. Don’t be put off by the name.

We do warm ups (each move for 30 seconds, do two rounds for a total of 6 minutes): jog in place, high knees, butt kicks, side to side heisman, 1-2-3 shuffle knee up, and high mountain climbers – which are high knees and clawing at the sky.

We do 10 moves total – 40 seconds on, 20 seconds off. 1 minute 20 second break after move #5,  2 minute 20 second break after #10. Then we repeat twice more. Here are some suggestions. Follow these up with some stretches and you will feel quite good about getting fit without buying exercise equipment or inhaling the lingering desperation and self-loathing often found clogging a gym’s atmosphere.

Feel free to add any more moves you want, change it up. What moves really work for you?

Leave a Reply

