A Blender, A Banana, and a Coffee Can Walk Into Your House

I rarely want ice cream and when I do, I never want to embark on an odyssey to the grocery store.

Lucky for me, The Internet knows a lot. One thing The Internet told me is that you can make (vegan) ice cream out of bananas. I can hear you already: “But I don’t want banana flavored ice cream!” “It won’t have the same texture!” “Healthy food tastes like crap!”

If that’s you, I want you to sit there quietly in your wrongness. You’ll never know until you try and I have tried for you. And now I have ‘ice cream’ way more often than before. Slice up a banana per person (2 if this is your dinner), set on a plate, put in the freezer for an hour, stick in food processor, and don’t lick the blades when it is all done. They are sharp.

Food processor or blender, it will take about 5 minutes and some scraping. But it will magically turn from frozen crumbles to creamy goodness right quick. The flavor is so mild. If you are worried about having the banana flavor ruin everything add a few drops of vanilla extract. Toss in some fresh fruit. Add some cocoa powder. The sky is the limit!

Now that you have ice cream, cleaning up sounds like a waste of time. Before it melts, you can have that blender of food processor cleaned up. Simply squirt a drop of soap in, fill half way with water, and run on the highest setting for 30 seconds. Take apart, rinse, and there should be nothing left to scrub!

What to do with those banana peels leftover? Stick ’em in your composter! I have no compost at home, I have to take it to a friend’s house and drop it over her fence. No biggie, but where to store the smelly stuff? I took a plastic coffee can – the kind with the ‘sealed’ top – drilled a few small holes in the top and hot glued a carbon filter to the inside of the lid. Make sure the filter covers the holes. I got my filter at a pet store, people use them for kitty litter boxes. Shake it every other day and empty it when it is full or weekly.

There you have it, an easy Saturday project with a sweet reward when you are done. 🙂

Cheap, easy, green.

2 thoughts on “A Blender, A Banana, and a Coffee Can Walk Into Your House

Leave a Reply

