Electronics Giveth And Taketh Away: Facebook And Ingress

I have generally had trouble finding a good topic to write about because the little things I do (or don’t do) to save money, help the planet, and keep my butt where it’s planted are so innocuous.

This week, though, I’ve made some small changes that have been more noticeable differences in my life than usual. Both involve changes in my relationship with digital media.

The first change I made this last week was Facebook related. I decided that instead of agonizing over unfriending someone (Would they notice? Be upset? What if we accidentally reconnect? What if I need them for something in the future?) I began to unfollow them.

I began unfollowing people when I didn’t remember why we were Facebook friends, when they posted too frequently, when I realized I wasn’t that close to them and didn’t need to know all aspects of their daily lives. I also began unliking many pages I wasn’t interested in anymore.

Now, quite frankly, my newsfeed is boring. I already know what’s going on in my everyday friends’ lives so I don’t feel such a tugging ‘need’ to keep up virtually. You could be extreme and quit it altogether. I’m not quite there yet.

Now I’m free and more mentally removed from the social media tether, I want to go out more! I’ve been to the library once this week and will definitely be returning a finished book next week. I also hope to get back into exercising since my back is feeling much better.

What kind of exercise? I’m not going to go crazy or push myself. A back injury is serious, no matter how slight. So I’m walking more and the game Ingress is helping.

Ingress has been around for about two years, but it’s new to me. It’s a virtual reality game  you play by walking. The game involves a futuristic looking version of Google maps and you hack portals and use alien energy….the point of the game is to go out and explore your area. Portals are usually churches, old buildings, historical sites, points of interest, etc. You can submit your own. If you aren’t motivated on your own to get out and walk, a game with points and enemies might be the kick you need.

Now, thanks to these two small (and free!) changes  I’m even happier living in the moment.

Leave a Reply

